Wii U Xbox 720 competitor

While we still have no word on the Sony’s Playstation 4 and Microsoft’s Xbox 720, it looks like we’re getting some very solid details from Nintendo regarding their next-gen console, the Wii U.

 

Wii U Xbox 720 competitor

According to a report from our friends over at IGN, Nintendo has given a December 8 release date for the Wii U in Japan and will come in two variants — a white basic package that will have 8 GB of memory and a premium package in black that will have a more sizeable 32 GB of memory. Here are the details of what you’ll get out of the box:

“The Basic set packs a white console, white Game Pad, an AC adapter and a HDMI cable. The Premium set includes a black console and a black Game Pad, an AC adapter, a HDMI cable, a Game Pad dock, a console stand and a two-year Nintendo Network Premium subscription that runs through to December 2014. Nintendo Network Premium offers 10 per cent off digital purchases.”

Wondering how much the Wii U will set you back? The basic package will cost ¥26,250 while the black package will require you to dole out ¥31,500. This will translate to about less than $350 and about $400 respectively. An extra Wii U GamePad (the controller) costs  ¥13,440 or about $170. While those aren’t exactly bargain basement prices, it’s almost a lock that it will be much cheaper than the Xbox 720 or the Playstation 4 when it comes out.

Nintendo will also be holding UK and US product launches for the Wii U. Here are the schedules:

  • 10:00 a.m. EDT
  • 9:00 a.m. CDT
  • 7:00 a.m. PDT
  • 3:00 p.m. BST
  • Midnight AEST
You can view the event live via streaming on Wii U’s Facebook fan page.

Are you excited to get your hands on a Wii U? Or will you be waiting for the xbox 720 and the Playstation 4? Share your thoughts in the comments below!


LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here